Sign up below to recevie all the latest updates & news
Sina blog

Taobao

WeChat

Coffee & Health

These pages discuss the various issues relating to coffee and health. Although we have obtained permission from the various sources to reprint their articles, please do not take these information as a form of authoritative or medical materials. They are presented here purely for reference and reading pleasure.

Most of the materials presented here deals with the issue of caffeine and the effects on pregnancy, general health such as headaches as well as the positive effects of coffee. Though some of the materials are similar in content, they were taken from various sources so that the reader can judge for themselves appropriately.

Caffeine is an alkaloid. There are numerous compounds called alkaloids, among them we have the methylxanthines, with three distinguished compounds: caffeine, theophylline, and theobromine, found in cola nuts, coffee, tea, cacao beans, mate and other plants. These compounds have different biochemical effects, and are present in different ratios in the different plant sources. These compounds are very similar and differ only by the presence of methyl groups in two positions of the chemical structure. They are easily oxidized to uric acid and other methyluric acids which are also similar in chemical structure.

Caffeine:
Sources: Coffee, tea, cola nuts, mate, guarana.
Effects: Stimulant of central nervous system, cardiac muscle, and respiratory system, diuretic. Delays fatigue.


Theophylline:
Sources: Tea
Effects: Cariac stimulant, smooth muscle relaxant, diuretic, vasodilator.

Theobromine:
Sources: Principle alkaloid of the cocoa bean (1.5-3%) Cola nuts and tea.
Effects: Diuretic, smooth muscle relaxant, cardiac stimulant, vasodilator. 


Cholesterol Problems. More recent studies have associated claims of increased cholesterol to coffee oils and not directly to caffeine, as previously believed. These coffee oils are mostly extracted when brewing coffee with paper filters, the oils are left behind during the brewing process.

Heart Problems. The 1980s studies relating heart problems to excessive coffee drinking (five cups or more), were discarded by a more recent report which showed no increase in heart attacks for people who drank six cups of coffee or more. Drinking decaf coffee showed no drop in cholesterol levels.

Cancer Problems. In 1981, a Harvard research linked coffee to pancreatic cancer. At least seven major studies failed to confirm this link. The original researchers retracted their findings five years later. Similar scares linking coffee to breast cancer have been discarded by later studies. A Harvard study of 121,700 nurses found no risk of breast cancer associated to coffee. In actuality the study revealed fewer nurses with breast cancer among those drinking coffee than with abstainers. [Note: This study did NOT conclusively establish that drinking coffee reduces breast cancer.]

A similar inverse relationship was established between coffee drinkers and colon/rectum cancer. A Boston University study of 5,138 cancer patients concluded that there was a 40% lower risk of developing colon cancer for those drinking five cups of coffee or more.

Pregnancy Problems. Premature birth and low birth weight has been also associated, in the past, to coffee consumption. More recently, smoking has been found to be the major culprit in pregnancy problems. However, the Food And Drug Administration still advises prudence and moderation with coffee, during pregnancy. [Note: We fully agree with eliminating or reducing coffee, tea, cocoa, soda and any other harsh food intake during pregnancy; it is not worth taking the chance. No study is conclusive enough in one way or another.]

Osteoporosis Problems. There is some evidence to link caffeine to a negative effect with calcium metabolism. Women who drink caffeinated products lose more calcium through urine and tend to have less dense bones than non-caffeine drinkers. Drinking at least a daily glass of milk for every two cups of coffee may offset the calcium loss.

Weight Loss. Here are some good news for weight lose enthusiasts. Caffeine increases the caloric burning rate. According to a Danish study of normal weight volunteers, one cup of coffee has been found to raise the metabolic rate by three to four percent. This caloric burn rate is even greater with exercise. Caffeine seems to make body fat more readily available as fuel to exersizing muscles. Muscles work longer before they fatigue.

Is caffeine harmful to me?


Experiments conducted in the recent past, trying to link birth defects, cancer and coronary heart disease to the intake of coffee (caffeine) have been unsuccessful or conflicting at best.

Physiological effects of caffeine on the human body are somewhat understood and well documented. The main physiological effect of caffeine appears to be as a stimulant of the central nervous system and most of the effects observed are behavioral in nature. Caffeine is associated with an increase in intellectual activity, but this seems to be significant only when the individual is fatigued or bored. Similarly, caffeine has been linked with sleeping problems and although there is evidence to support this, the variation from individual to individual is considerable.

Caffeine has also an effect on the cardiovascular system by relaxation of the smooth muscles of blood vessels and an increase in heart output. However, the observed increase in blood pressure disappeared after repeated ingestion of caffeine (250 mg. 3 times a day for 7 days). The reasons for this adaptive process are not clear.

Caffeine has been proven to increase gastric acid secretion, therefore is a preferred after-meal beverage. Although there is no clear evidence to link excessive coffee consumption with incidence of peptic ulcers, coffee (caffeine) ingestion is clearly undesirable for ulcerated persons. Persons with ulcers should avoid the increase gastric acids in their stomachs.

Pregnant women should reduce the intake of coffee, tea, soda or any caffeinated beverage to moderate amounts. Caffeine intake in moderation is believed to be safe during pregnancy, as stated by the US Food and Drug Administration and the American Medical Association.

In 1991, caffeine was blamed by a Swedish study as contributing to the increase in cholesterol level. In 1994, this report was discredited as confusing coffee lipids with cholesterol contributing agents. Decaffeinated coffees were more recently linked to increases in cholesterol. This study was later proven conflicting and doubtful. Another study later showed caffeine contributing to the decrease in cholesterol, this is also doubtful.

The coffee controversy is not new, it has been continuing for centuries long. The first controversy dates back to the introduction of coffee into Europe. Pope Clement VIII was asked by the Roman clergy to ban the brew because it was the "Devil’s drink". Well, this was a retaliation move for the Islam banning wine as a "Demonic drink". Fortunately, the Pope liked the coffee so much he blessed it, converting it into a Christian beverage. The 15th Century coffee houses, became so popular that they were identified as dens of immorality and vice.

Coffee houses and coffee were extremely popular in the 17th Century London (they were the origin of Lloyd’s of London and many other big enterprises). Historians claim that coffee houses drew men from their homes making lonely wives (banned from coffee houses) angry at the beverage. A petition drafted complaining, requesting the closure of these coffee houses and a large advertisement in favor of tea, converted this coffee loving nation into tea drinkers. Colonial America would have followed London’s tea preference, with the exception of the "Boston Tea Party" which changed all that and much more.

Be your own judge, most people can enjoy coffee on a regular basis without adverse effects. Moderation is key, but moderation is differently measured by each individual.

Why it’s Good for the Body

Much study and research has been performed to prove the reactions that coffee has upon the human body. For example, in October 1970, in Venice, the first Bio-pharmacological Symposium on coffee was held. The year after, in October 1971, Florence played host to the second convention and, in 1972, the third convention, held in Vietri by the sea, integrated and completed the exhibition of the properties of the active ingredients contained in coffee, clearly outlining the positive effects and discrediting the negative prejudice commonly diffused in the past. During these conventions experts in the fields of Dietetics, Nutrition and Human Physiology stressed the therapeutic nature of coffee, a beverage which, in a society like ours, helps to combat physical and mental stress, strongly characteristic symptoms of life today.

Why it’s good for us

From the nutritional point of view coffee is not an indispensable food. However, some of the substances it contains have beneficial effects upon the body.

The habit of consuming it every day doesn’t lead to dependency, even after long periods of time. Naturally, as with every food, it is necessary to avoid abuse and consumption in excessive amounts in order to prevent the occurrence of side effects. The most common effects of coffee on our bodies are the following. Coffee is classed as a “nervine” product that generally acts upon the nervous system, creating a feeling of wellbeing, encouraging the consumer to be alert and active at work, not only from a physical point of view but also in activities which require prompt reflexes.

Who needs caffeine?

This stimulation comes from caffeine, combined with caffettanninic acid (a mixture of various acids including chlorogenic acid and caffeic acid). Caffeine, an alkaloid discovered by Runge in 1820, is found in the seeds and leaves of the coffee, tea, cocoa, cola and maté plants. This is why in several countries (Island of Sumatra, for example), decoctions are made from the roasted leaves. A cup of coffee contains approximately 5 cg of caffeine and its stimulating action, which lasts between one and two hours, goes to work on the cerebra-spinal nervous system, reawakening the mental faculties, fighting off tiredness, boredom, fatigue, mental as well as physical, and depression. It improves the memory, the ability to absorb information, intuition and concentration and facilitates the perception of sensorial stimulants. It calms headaches and migraines in general. The positive effects of caffeine on the upper nerve centres have been tested using the conditioned reflex technique: given in therapeutic doses it increased the speed of conditioned reflexes, while it reduced their period of latency.

The advantages for heart, liver and lungs
The beneficial action of caffeine extends as far as the heart and can therefore be used in pharmacotherapy as a cardiotonic. Furthermore it improves the one of the arteries without altering blood pressure, and also improves coronary circulation. Remember that the action on the heart is secondary, and is not detectable in usual doses of 2-3 cups a day. This is especially true with regard to those that can be classed as negative actions, such as tachycardia.

The lungs also benefit from the stimulating action of a cup of coffee. The dilatation of the bronchi improves, as does lung ventilation, thus facilitating breathing.

At muscular level, coffee improves the capacity for muscular concentration, reduces tiredness, and improves the co-ordination of movements and sporting performance. This is why coffee is recommended to athletes, as it relieves fatigue, especially in sports which require stamina, when fatigue takes over and movements become heavy.

At everyday level it stimulates the vasomotor nerves and therefore facilitates digestion. This makes coffee ideal not only to wake you up first thing in the morning, but also at lunch and dinner, as it goes to work on the stomach lining, encouraging the secretion of gastric juices, initiating and improving the digestive process.

It activates the production of bile in the liver and the contraction of the gall bladder. It aids movement in the intestine, improving its functions. Other positive effects of a good cup of coffee are felt by the kidneys, in which the renal arteries dilate thus improving diuresis.

It stimulates the adrenal secretion of the endocrine glands (cortex/cortisone, etc.; medullar/adrenaline), and, last but not least, stimulates the function of the thyroid and metabolism.

The scarce calorific value of coffee shouldn’t be underestimated, as this means it can be consumed freely without adverse effect upon calorie-controlled diets.

    

    Comment

    (required)

    (required)


    Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

填写以下信息即可以收到最新的电子杂志及新闻消息。
新浪微博

淘宝

微信

咖啡和健康

以下将讨论有关咖啡和健康的各种话题。 虽然我们已从各个资料来源处获得引用它们文章的允许,然而,请切勿把这些信息作为一种权威的或医疗形式的文献。 这些信息之所以列出仅仅为了提供参考和激发阅读的乐趣。

这儿列出的多数资料论及咖啡因及其它对怀孕、一般健康问题如头疼的影响,以及咖啡对人的积极效果。尽管有些资料在内容上雷同,但是它们出自不同的来源,所以读者自己可以做出适当的判断。

从化学角度看什么是咖啡因?

咖啡因是一种生物碱。 有数量众多的化合物称之为生物碱,其中有甲基
{methylxanthines} 它有三种不同类别的化合物,咖啡因,茶碱,柯柯豆素,存在于可乐果,咖啡,茶, 可可树,马黛茶树和其它植物中。这些化合物具有不同的生化特性,在不同的植物源中占有不同的比率。这些化合物非常类似,仅在化学结构二个位置上出现的甲基组群不同。他们非常容易对尿酸和其它甲基酸发生氧化, 而这些在化学结构上也类似。

咖啡因:
来源:咖啡,茶, 可乐果,马黛茶树,guarana
作用;刺激中央神经系统,心肌和呼吸系统,利尿, 延缓衰老。

茶碱:
来源:茶
作用:心肌刺激剂, 平滑肌放松剂,利尿, 扩张血管

柯柯豆素:
来源:可可树的主要生物碱(1.5%-3%), 可乐果和茶
作用:利尿,平滑肌放松剂,心肌刺激剂,扩张血管

胆固醇问题。很多最近的研究把胆固醇的增加归咎于咖啡油,和咖啡因没有直接关系,和以前的认为没有不同。这些咖啡油在调制咖啡时被滤纸吸收。制作咖啡的过程中油被留下。

心脏病问题。1980年的研究把心脏病和引用咖啡过量(每天5杯或5杯以上)联系在一起。但这一种说法被更新的研究报告摒弃。报告表明每天引用6杯和杯以上咖啡的人并不增加患心脏病的风险。研究还显示饮用无咖啡因咖啡和胆固醇水平没有一点关系。

癌症问题。1981年,哈佛大学的研究把咖啡和胰腺癌联系在一起。然而至少有7项研究不能确认这一联系。原先的研究者五年之后收回了之前的研究发现。还有类似的把咖啡和乳腺癌联系起来的零星说法,之后由于新的研究而被抛弃。哈佛大学一项涉及121,700个护士的研究表明喝咖啡没有患乳腺癌的风险。 事实上研究揭示喝咖啡的人群中乳腺癌患者比放弃喝咖啡的人群少。[注:这一研究决不能得出喝咖啡能降低患乳腺癌的风险的结论]。
还有类似的喝咖啡和结肠癌/直肠癌没有关系的研究结论。波士顿大学对5,138个癌症患者进行研究的出的结论是每天喝5杯或5杯以上咖啡的人患结肠癌的风险降低40%。

怀孕问题。 以前把早产婴儿和出生瘦弱的婴儿和饮用咖啡联系起来。最近却发现吸烟是产生怀孕问题的罪魁祸首。然而,食品和药品管理局还是劝告妇女怀孕期间喝咖啡应该谨慎和适度。[我们完全同意怀孕期间不喝或少喝咖啡,茶, 可可, 苏打水等饮料以及不吃或少吃任何其它涩口的食品。不值得冒这一风险。没有研究能提供足够的证据得出肯定或否定的结论。

骨质疏松问题。有证据表明咖啡因对钙的新陈代谢有负面作用。妇女饮用含咖啡因的饮料会从尿中流失更多的钙,而且骨密度不及不饮用含咖啡因饮料的妇女。每天每喝两杯咖啡就至少补充一杯日常饮量的牛奶能补偿钙的流失。

减肥。有些对热衷于减肥的人士的好消息。咖啡因增加卡路里的燃烧率。根据丹麦对正常体重志愿者的研究,发现一杯咖啡能提高三到四个百分点的新陈代谢率。这些卡路里的燃烧率甚至大于体育锻炼。咖啡因看来更容易使人体脂肪成为肌肉运动的燃料。肌肉在疲劳之前运动时间更长。

咖啡因对我有害吗?

前不久进行的实验表明, 试图把出生缺陷、癌症和冠状动脉心脏病和饮用咖啡(咖啡因)联系在一起是没有根据的或充其量是自相矛盾的。

咖啡对人体的生理效应有些可以理解并在文献中记录详细。咖啡因主要的生理作用显示
为作为中央神经系统的刺激剂,而且在多数作用下的行为据观察符合人的本性。咖啡因和智力活动的增强有关系,不过看来这也只有在人出于疲劳和厌烦的状态下才有意义。类似的是咖啡因和睡眠问题有联系,尽管这一观点也有证据可支持,但是它因人而异, 而且差别显著。

咖啡因对心脏系统也能产生作用,它能放松血管的平滑肌,并增大心脏的输出。然而咖啡因重复消化之后(250mg,一天三次, 共7天),观察到的血压升高消失了。这一适应过程的原由目前还不清楚。

已证明咖啡因能增加胃酸的分泌,因此它是很好的餐后饮品。 尽管没有明显的证据把过量饮用咖啡对胃十二指肠溃疡的影响联系起来, 但是咖啡(咖啡因)的消化显然对溃疡病人不利。溃疡病人应当避免增加胃中的胃酸。

怀孕妇女应该把咖啡, 茶,苏打和任何含咖啡因的饮料饮用量减到适量程度。据信,适量摄入咖啡因在怀孕期间是安全的, 如美国食物和药品管理局以及美国医药协会所述。

1991年,瑞典的一项研究认为咖啡因会造成胆固醇水平的上升。在1994年这一报告受质疑, 被认为是混淆了咖啡液体和胆固醇增强剂。最近又把去除咖啡因的咖啡和胆固醇的增加联系起来。后来又证明这项研究有矛盾,值得怀疑。后来另一项研究表明咖啡因能降低胆固醇, 这也值得怀疑。

关于咖啡的矛盾并非现在才有,它已持续了几个世纪。第一次矛盾可以追溯到咖啡引进欧洲之时。罗马教士要求波普 克来蒙特八世禁止调制咖啡,因为它是一种“罪恶的饮料”。这是对伊斯兰把酒作为一种“民主的饮料”而禁止的一次报复。幸运的是波普非常喜欢咖啡,他赐福于咖啡,并把咖啡转化为基督教的饮料。15 世纪咖啡馆广受欢迎,还被认为是不道德和罪恶的象征。

咖啡馆和咖啡在17世纪的伦敦尤其受欢迎(它们是伦敦的劳埃斯和其它大企业的起源)。历史学家宣称咖啡馆把丈夫从家中吸引出来,留着孤独的被禁止进入咖啡馆的妻子在家中迁怒于咖啡。由抱怨形成的请愿书递交, 要求关闭咖啡馆,并登出大幅广告提倡饮茶, 把这个热爱咖啡的民族转变成饮茶的国度。殖民时代的美国跟随伦敦的饮茶风俗,而“波士顿茶会”不在此例,它完全不一样, 涵义更丰富。

自己做出判断吧。 很多人享受咖啡,把它作为日常饮料,而且没有任何不良影响。适度是关键,而衡量适度的标准因人而异。

为什么咖啡对人体有益?

已经进行很多的调查和研究以证明咖啡对人体产生的反应。 例如,1970年10月在威尼斯举行了首届关于咖啡的生物-药物反应讨论会。 一年以后,1971年10月,佛罗伦萨作为主办城市举行了第二届会议。 然后1972年的第三次会议在Vietri的海上举行,以展览会的形式全面综合展示咖啡中含有的活性成分的特性, 明确列出其有益作用并对过去广泛传播的有偏见的负面意见提出质疑。会议期间,饮食、营养、人类生理领域的专家强调了咖啡的治疗性质,在我们所处的这个时代,咖啡这种饮料有助于抵抗身体和精神上的压力, 而这些压力是当今生活的强烈特性和症状。

为什么咖啡对我们有益?

从营养学角度来看,咖啡并不是必不可少的食物。 然而它 的某些物质对人体产生有益的作用。

形成每天喝咖啡的习惯并不会导致依赖,即使是长时期拥有这一习惯。 自然, 和其它任何食品一样, 有必要避免滥用和过量食用以防止副作用的产生。 咖啡对我们人体最普遍的作用叙述如下。 咖啡归类为一种“神经剂”产品, 一般作用于神经系统, 能形成一种幸福的感觉,促使消费者在工作中敏锐和积极, 这不仅从身体角度而言, 而且体现在需要反应的活动中。

谁需要咖啡因?

咖啡的刺激作用来自于咖啡因,还有Caffettanninic酸(各种酸的混合,包括氯基酸?和咖啡酸)。 咖啡因为伦格在1820发现的一种生物碱, 在咖啡树, 茶树,可可树, 可乐果,马黛茶树的种子和树叶中可以找到。 这就是有些国家(例如,苏门答腊岛)用烘烤的树叶煎煮咖啡的原因。一杯咖啡约含约5cg的咖啡因,而且它的刺激作用维持在一小时到二小时之间, 作用于大脑脊柱神经系统, 重新唤醒心理机能,战胜身体和心理上的疲劳, 厌烦,和沮丧,以及抑郁。它能改善记忆、吸收信息的能力、直觉和集中力以及帮助感知感觉器官受到的激励。 一般它还能缓解头痛和偏头痛。已经使用条件反射技术对咖啡因对上神经中枢的有益作用做测试:服用治疗的剂量能增加条件反射的速度, 同时减低潜伏的时期。

对心、肝、肺的益处

咖啡因的这样可以延伸到心脏,因此在医药上可以作为强心剂使用。 此外,它还可以改善大动脉之一而不影响血压以及改善冠状动脉的血液循环。 切记它对心脏的作用是辅助性的,而且每日2-3杯的剂量不能看出效果。考虑这一作用可被归类为负作用, 如引起心动过速时尤为如此。

肺同样能从一杯咖啡的刺激作用中获益。支气管的扩张得到改善,肺内气息通畅,因此有助于呼吸。

从肌肉层面来看,咖啡能提高肌肉紧张的能量, 从而减少疲劳,能增强运动的协调性和改善体育运动汇总的表现。这就是为什么向运动员推荐咖啡, 因为它能缓解疲劳,尤其是对需要耐力的体育运动,当疲劳袭来,运动就变的越来越沉重。

从日常生活来看,咖啡能刺激血管舒缩神经,因此有助于消化。咖啡是一种理想的饮品,不仅因为喝咖啡是早晨醒来第一要做的事,而且它还是午餐和晚餐的伴侣, 因为它对胃黏膜产生作用,促进胃酸分泌,启动和改善消化过程。

咖啡能刺激肝中胆汁的产生和胆囊的收缩。这有助于肠的蠕动,改善肠的功能。一杯咖啡的有益功能还可以反映在对肾的作用上,它使肾动脉扩张,因此有利尿作用。

咖啡能刺激内分泌腺中(皮层/可体松等;延髓/肾上腺素)的肾上腺分泌,最后一点也不可忽略,它还具有刺激甲状腺和新陈代谢的功能。

咖啡中不含卡路里的价值不应被低估, 这就意味着喝咖啡时不用担心对控制卡路里的饮食有负面影响。

  • Share


Comment

(required)

(required)


Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.